Category Archives: Vegetable Rotation

Category 5 Climate Change Headed Our Way: Prepare Now

In October 2021, I presented a short slide show to For A More Perfect Union about climate change and what can be done about it. The issue of what is likely to happen and how to prepare both individually and as a society is of utmost importance to everyone on this planet since it will impact all of us. As a food systems anthropologist and community organizer I talk on this subject a lot. The topic of our weather and climate and its implications for economics, food supply, housing, infrastructure, and survival is both complex and alarmingly simple. If you have a Cat 5 coming (and you do), prepare quickly. And if you don’t know how to prepare, get busy and study.

Attached is the slide presentation.

Protected: Pruning Movies additional

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

Where You Can Buy the Book

Year-Round Food Gardening for Houston and Southeast Texas (2019)

As of November 11, 2021

My 511-page book Year-Round Food Gardening for Houston and Southeast Texas is being sold by locally owned green businesses and non-profits that help people grow food crops. It is not on big data out-of-state sites.

Central Houston

Urban Harvest Farmers’ Market (Buffalo near Westheimer) and Classes http://urbanharvest.org

Buchanan’s on 11th street in the Heights https://buchanansplants.com/

Brazos Bookstore on Bissonnet near Kirby https://www.brazosbookstore.com/

Southwest Fertilizer on Bissonnet near Renwick. https://www.southwestfertilizer.com 

West Houston 

Blue Willow Bookshop on Memorial at Dairy-Ashford https://www.bluewillowbookshop.com

North Houston

Wabash Feed and Garden on North Shepherd at Crosstimbers https://wabashfeed.com

RCW Nursery on 15809 Tomball Parkway at Beltway 8. https://rcwnurseries.com

Arbor Gate. 15635 FM 2920, Tomball, Texas 77377 west of 249.  https://arborgate.com/contact-us/

Montgomery County–Conroe/Woodlands

Nature’s Way Resources   I-45 north of The Woodlands. https://natureswayresources.com/

Southern Harris County/Galveston Bay

Maas Nursery.  5511 Todville Rd, Seabrook.  https://maasnursery.com/  (by March 1, 2020)

Fort Bend County –Richmond

Enchanted Gardens.  6420 FM 359,Richmond, TX.  https://www.myenchanted.com/ (by March 1, 2020)

Brazoria County

Moring Star Prairie Plants 21107 Pecan Bend, Damon, TX 77430. https://morningstarprairieplants.com

By Mail Order

Brazos Bookstore https://www.brazosbookstore.com/

Urban Harvest https://urbanharvest.org

Green Life Aquaponics. https://www.greenlifeaquaponics.com/year-round-vegetables-fruits-and-flowers-for-metro-houston/

Blue Willow Bookshop on Memorial at Dairy-Ashford https://www.bluewillowbookshop.com

Glenbrook Ecologic https://glenbrookecologic.com/year-round-food-gardening-for-houston-and-southeast-texas/

Some of the vendors listed at the top of the page may also mail books.

Wholesale Only

Retailers wishing to sell this book should leave a comment below and I will email you or send a request to

yearroundgardening 

At

icloud.com

Figs in Southeast Texas

2012 Ag Ext Figs 2

I presented this talk on Figs to Harris County Master Gardeners in 2012. It was based in part on the extensive work on figs locally by J. Stewart Nagel, Ph.D.

Protected: For Class (MT,BR, SG, RB)

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

A Possible 8-bed Vegetable Garden Rotation Scheme

The pdf chart below is one method for figuring out how to change the location of vegetables by season. It helps diversify the plant locations over the years while making use of the year round climate in Southeast Texas and all the space. The chart is just a demo that you will want to adjust for your own tastes and land.

A Vegetable Bed Rotation

%d bloggers like this: